The Knights of the Southern Cross (Tasmania) was incorporated in Tasmania.

The Order complies with the requirements of the Associations Incorporation Act 1987. The Order is a not for profit body governed by a State Council who give their time voluntarily. The State Council discharges its responsibilities under the Act.

Please click on the link below to view.

> Knights of the Southern Cross (TAS) Constitution


The Order of the Knights of the Southern Cross (Tasmania) is an autonomous State branch of a national organisation. It comprises of metropolitan and country branches. The Order in Western Australia has its own Constitution and elected State Council.

As a national organisation, the Order is a foundation member of the International Alliance of Catholic Knights (IACK); a non-governmental organisation officially recognised by the Vatican in accordance with the Code of Canon Law.

On 22 July 2008, the Order was granted Special Consultative Status by the Economic and Social Council of the United Nations Organization.

State Council

The Order in Tasmania is governed by the State Council. Membership of the State Council includes: the State Chairman and a maximum of twelve other members known as State Councillors. Each of these individuals have voting rights.

The State Chaplain and the State Executive Officer are non-voting members of the State Council.

State Office

The Order's State headquarters is located in Lindisfarne in Tasmania. The State Executive Officer is responsible for the day-to-day operation of the State Office. They support and report to the State Chairman and the State Council. The State Executive Officer implements the strategic direction and policies of the State Council.

State Chaplain

The State Chaplain is appointed by the Archbishop of Hobart to provide spiritual guidance to the State Order. The State Chaplain attends and participates in all meetings of the State Council as a non-voting member.

© Copyright Knights of the Southern Cross 2021 - All Rights Reserved.

HTML Builder